文學小說(驚悚)
更新日期:
2021-01-13
Little Secrets
Jennifer Hillier
Minotaur Books
April 2020
368pp
書籍編號:
01-30348
已有電子文稿,歡迎索稿審閱!
● 內文簡介

★Google Play的2020年最佳圖書之一
★雜誌《Parade》選為2020年最佳圖書之一
★《紐約郵報》必讀小說
★Book Riot選為2020年最佳驚悚類小說
★本書銷量突破40,000冊
★已授權英、美、捷、德、匈、波、土和馬其頓!

這本引人入勝的心理驚悚小說述說一個被悲痛淹埋的女人,在遭到任何的刺激所引起的狂怒和無法挽回的後果。

摧毀一個人的人生只需要一個小小的秘密……

聖誕節前夕,西雅圖的大型百貨商場人滿為患,馬琳和丈夫德里克帶著四歲兒子塞巴斯蒂安購物,但只是一瞬間沒有拉住兒子的小手,他就失蹤了。大量的員警搜查、媒體追蹤,就是尋不回兒子。

16個月後,馬琳仍活在失去兒子的悲痛中。警方的調查停滯不前,大眾的關注也漸漸褪色,她與德里克愈來愈不交談,但是她秘密請來一名私家偵探繼續調查兒子的下落。豈料,私家偵探在查出失蹤兒子的下落之前,意外發現德里克與一名年輕女郎麥肯琪的婚外情。這樁背叛使馬琳感到震怒,因為她已經失去兒子了,無法再失去丈夫。

馬琳原以為自己擁有完美的生活。她是一家高級髮廊的經營者,嫁給大學時期已相愛的男朋友德里克,一名事業有成的男人。他們是社區最受人稱羨的一對夫妻,而她也確信自己擁有一個充滿愛的家庭,但是如今全部幻滅。

當德里克以出差為名攜帶麥肯琪出遊時,馬琳相約黑幫友人薩爾幫忙,找人把麥肯琪幹掉。等到德里克出差回來後,對馬琳的態度大轉變,不僅對她關懷呵護,更安排慶祝結婚二十周年的約會。雖然少了兒子,他們的婚姻難免有缺陷,馬琳相信德里克回到她的身邊,於是停止謀殺行動。只是一切都太遲了,麥肯琪已經失蹤。

故事劇情以兩位女性的視角進行敘述,一位是失去孩子的母親、人妻和職業女性的馬琳,另一位是絕望、失落的女孩試圖擺脫貧窮,不借代價搶走別人丈夫的麥肯琪。

這本小說以一樁兒童失蹤案揭開序幕,撕開一個又一個的秘密、謊言、背叛、糾纏和復仇,讓每個人心底深處的小小秘密和欲望最後化成吃人的心魔。

 

● 作者簡介

Jennifer Hillier,出生於加拿大多倫多,曾生活於美國西雅圖,著有贏得國際驚悚作家最佳精裝小說獎(International Thriller Writers Award)的《Jar of Hearts》。

 

● 媒體報導

“[A] diabolically plotted psychological thriller of lust, obsession, greed, and betrayal...a captivating double helix of duplicity.” —Publishers Weekly

“The tensions ratchet up as nefarious motives and twisted allegiances come to light. A delightfully twisty psychological thriller perfect for fans of You and Gone Girl.” —Kirkus

“Hillier cleverly masks a villain with dueling sympathies…Hillier, known for crafting creepy psych thrillers, offers a compelling take on the domestic thriller.” —Booklist

“Hillier follows up Jar of Hearts, a much-best-booked ITW Thriller Award winner, with an eye popper […]” —Library Journal


“Once I picked Little Secrets up, I couldn’t put it down. It’s crackling with suspense, bursting with characters I cared about, and has one of the most satisfying endings I’ve ever read.” —Jess Lourey, bestselling author of Unspeakable Things

“Unflinching and unforgettable. Little Secrets has everything you want in a thriller—complex characters, heart-pounding suspense and a stunning conclusion. Jennifer Hillier is one of my favorite writers, and this is her best book yet.” —Riley Sager, New York Times bestselling author of Lock Every Door

“Little Secrets will leave readers completely floored. You don't just read this book; you inhale it.” —Mary Kubica, New York Times bestselling author of The Good Girl and The Other Mrs.

“Suspenseful and compelling—Hillier is a masterful storyteller.” —Chevy Stevens, New York Times bestselling author of Never Let You Go