文學小說
更新日期:
2017-06-21
If the Creek Don’t Rise: A Novel
Leah Weiss
Sourcebooks Landmark
August 2017
320pp
書籍編號:
01-2413
已有電子稿,歡迎索稿審閱!
● 內文簡介

★美國獨立書店八月選書

He's gonna be sorry he ever messed with me and Loretta Lynn

Sadie Blue has been a wife for fifteen days. That's long enough to know she should have never hitched herself to Roy Tupkin, even with the baby.

Sadie is desperate to make her own mark on the world, but in remote Appalachia, a ticket out of town is hard to come by, and hope often gets stomped out. When a stranger sweeps into Baines Creek and knocks things off kilter, Sadie finds herself with an unexpected lifeline...if she can just figure out how to use it.

This intimate insight into a fiercely proud, tenacious community unfolds through the voices of the forgotten folks of Baines Creek. With a colorful cast of characters that each contribute a new perspective, IF THE CREEK DON'T RISE is a debut novel bursting with heart, honesty, and homegrown grit.

 

● 作者簡介

Leah Weiss retired in 2015 from a twenty-four-year career as an executive assistant to the headmaster at a private school in Lynchburg, Virginia. Her stories have appeared in many magazines. This is her debut novel.

 

● 媒體報導

"This one nearly broke my heart. With deeply human characters I will not easily forget, Weiss captures the fierce pull of desperation and the formidable power of hope. An impressive debut from a talent to watch.... "──Kathleen Grissom, author of the New York Times bestsellers The Kitchen House and Glory Over Everything

"Every page of Leah Weiss' debut, If the Creek Don't Rise, has a pulse as fierce and unyielding as its Appalachian setting. Told through an ensemble of narrators, men and women of all ages bound by the inescapable power of place and belonging, it is a lush exploration of the darkest rooms in the human heart, and the brightest fires of the human spirit. Weiss' remarkable gift for language left me breathless, and her characters, distinctive and unapologetically-human, will haunt me for some time." ──Erika Marks, author of The Last Treasure

"Writing with a deep knowledge of the enduring myths of Appalachia, Weiss vividly portrays real people and sorrows. A strong, formidable novel for readers of William Faulkner and Cormac McCarthy."──Library Journal