文學小說
更新日期:
2018-04-16
Little
Edward Carey
Riverhead Books
Oct. 2018
448pp
書籍編號:
01-2698
已有樣書,歡迎索書審閱!
● 內文簡介

The wry, macabre, unforgettable tale of an ambitious orphan in Revolutionary Paris, befriended by royalty and radicals, who transforms herself into the legendary Madame Tussaud.

In 1761, a tiny, odd-looking girl named Marie is born in a village in Switzerland. After the death of her parents, she is apprenticed to an eccentric wax sculptor and whisked off to the seamy streets of Paris, where they meet a domineering widow and her quiet, pale son. Together, they convert an abandoned monkey house into an exhibition hall for wax heads, and the spectacle becomes a sensation. As word of her artistic talent spreads, Marie is called to Versailles, where she tutors a princess and saves Marie Antoinette in childbirth. But outside the palace walls, Paris is roiling: The revolutionary mob is demanding heads, and . . . at the wax museum, heads are what they do.

In the tradition of Gregory Maguire's Wicked and Erin Morgenstern's The Night Circus, Edward Carey's Little is a darkly endearing cavalcade of a novel--a story of art, class, determination, and how we hold on to what we love.

 

● 作者簡介

Edward Carey is a novelist, visual artist, and playwright. His acclaimed YA series, the Iremonger Trilogy, was a fan favorite, with citations for Best Books of the Year by The New York Times, NPR, and Kirkus Reviews. He is also the author of two adult novels, Observatory Mansions and Alva & Irva. Born in England, he now teaches at the University of Texas in Austin, where he lives with his wife, the author Elizabeth McCracken., and their family.

 

● 媒體報導

Praise for Little:

"An exquisitely disturbing treasure of a novel. Sensual, unassumingly poignant, hilarious, heartbreaking, cruel, joyous: Edward Carey's Little is a triumph and one of the most intoxicating novels I've read. I never wanted to leave Marie's side."
—Sarah Schmidt, author of See What I Have Done

Praise for Edward Carey:

“If this were music, Carey would be Erik Satie. If it were film, he would be Tim Burton.” —Newsday

“Delightful, eccentric, heartfelt, surprising, philosophical.” —Eleanor Catton, author of the Booker Prize–winning The Luminaries

“Carey writes with such persuasive authority, and we are inclined to believe him . . . [his] sweetly detached, exact prose has forebears in the illuminated dreams of Borges and Calvino and Georges Perec.” —The New York Times